Happy Saturday horror fans!

It’s almost 5 months into 2013, but since we were chained up for that year and couldn’t get to a computer, we are getting to this post a little late. Better late then never though!  Today I’m going to tell you about a few of my favorite horror films of 2012. Rebecca will be here next week to tell you what her favorite horror film of 2012 was! (P.S. It’s my favorite as well!)

The Woman in Black (directed by James Watkins)

The Woman in Black

Source: impawards.com

It’s very rare that I actually feel scared when watching a horror film. As much as I love them, I have seen so many that I seem to be immune from the feeling of fear I used to get as a kid. The Woman in Black was the first film in a long time to actually get under my skin. The combination of the huge, crumbling mansion, creepy old woman ghost, really disturbing dolls, dead kids, and the foggy setting on the moors of England, made this a highly enjoyable experience for me. Now I just have to see the original!

Sinister (directed by Scott Derrickson)

Sinister

Source: impawards.com

The second film of 2012 to get under my skin! I guess it wasn’t such a bad year for horror! Ethan Hawke stars as a true crime author who moves into a house where some murders have taken place and stumbles on more than he bargained for! This movie kept me guessing, and I liked where it led to. Like The Woman in Black, creepy children play a part (I just love those little creeps!), and although this took place in a suburban house rather than a run-down mansion, it was still haunting. I loved that this was a different take on the found footage sub-genre- instead of being found footage, its about the discovery of found footage. Pretty unique!

The Collection (directed by Marcus Dunstan)

The Collection

Source: impawards.com

I loved the first film in this series, and had high hopes for its sequel, and luckily it didn’t disappoint. This film primarily takes place in the collector’s lair, and as you’d expect, he’s decked it out with insane traps, including those pesky bear traps. High energy, gory, and never boring, this is a plain old good, bloody time.

The Loved Ones (directed by Sean Byrne)

The Loved Ones

Source: impawards.com

So technically this is not a 2012 film, but rather a 2009 film, but it didn’t get a U.S. release until this year, so in my mind that counts! This tale of a deranged high school girl who decides to kidnap someone to be her date for prom was extremely well made, moving, brutal, and has the best ending of any movie I’ve seen in recent memory.

Rabies (directed by Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado)

Rabies

Source: impawards.com

Another film that did not gain a U.S. release until this year, Rabies is actually the first horror film out of Israel, and it is a great one! Good job Israel! When this movie began I was pretty sure I knew where it was heading as it begins like many horror movies before it, but it quickly veered off in the best of ways, and kept me on my toes throughout the entire movie. It was quite hard to watch at times due to the disturbing nature of certain scenes, and the gruesomeness of it, but there were also some darkly comedic spots throughout which helped to give a little breather. This film is definitely worth a watch!

Seen all of those films already? Here are a few more to check out: The Awakening (directed by Nick Murphy), Citadel (directed by Ciaran Foy), The Hole (directed by Joe Dante), Lovely Molly (directed by Eduardo Sanchez), The Pact (directed by Nicholas McCarthy), Paranormal Activity 4 (directed by Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman), SilentHouse (directed by Chris Kentis and Laura Lau), and Sleep Tight (directed by Jaume Balaguero)

Comments
  1. […] Five Great Horror Movies of 2012 (scaredshirtless.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Five Great Horror Movies of 2012 (scaredshirtless.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

