Amazing Horror Movie Dance Scenes

Posted: November 16, 2009 by Rebecca in Horror Movies, Lists
Tags: , , ,

Have you ever been watching a horror movie, and thought to yourself, “I wish I could see some dancing right now”?  Yeah, me too!!

Well, look no further because here is a list of some movies that include not only blood and guts, but also DANCING!!

1. Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter (1984)

My #1 favorite dance scene in any movie has to be Crispin Glover’s totally 80’s dance from the fourth installment of the Friday the 13th series.  Now this dance makes me wish I was in my teens in the 80’s because you could dance any which way you wanted, and it would still be cool.  Well, on second thought, Jimbo’s friends were looking at him like he was a bit crazy while he was dancing, but still, dancing was so much more relaxed then, and since I can’t dance, I think it would have been the perfect decade to have been a teen in.  According to IMDb trivia, this is the way Crispin Glover actually danced at clubs, so that makes this scene even cooler.  In case you wanted to go out and pick up that track after watching, the song is “Love is a Lie”, by Lion.

2. Prom Night (1980)

Has disco ever been so cool??!!  The scene in Prom Night where Jamie Lee Curtis and her boyfriend dance at the prom is amazing, even more amazing is that it was a serious dance, it was not something making fun of disco.  It reminds me of Ross and Monica’s ultra-choreographed dance number from FriendsWatch here! Now, if this dance sequence does not make you want to go out and by some platform boots, and bell bottoms, or maybe get a perm a la Jamie Lee Curtis, nothing will.

3. Night of the Demons (1988)

As I mentioned in my Halloween post, one of the most memorable parts of this movie is Angela’s (Amelia “Mimi” Kinkade) dance sequence.  To me, it resembles a demonic version of a Flashdance dance sequence. Watch here and here, but instead of 80’s pop music, it is 80’s metal.  According to Wikipedia, Amelia Kinkade choreographed the dance herself, and she was a professional jazz dancer and choreographer.  What is she doing now, you ask?  Well, she is a psychic animal communicator, of course!  Now, in case you’re a huge fan of the song, and want to go out and buy a copy immediately and perform your own demonic dance, the song is Stigmata Martyr by Bauhaus.

4. A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s Revenge (1985)

So this is a really short dance scene, with some lip-syncing as well, but it definitely deserves a place on this list.  Now, doesn’t this make cleaning look fun?  I know when I have to put away clothes, I put on some glittery sunglasses and dance around my room, doesn’t everyone?  The question is, where can I get those glasses he was wearing, and more importantly, how can he see with those on?

The song he is singing and dancing to is “Touch me (all night long)” by Wish, featuring Fonda Rae.

5. Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning (1985)

The next dance sequence that needs a place on this list is Violet’s robot dance from the fifth installment of the Friday the 13th series.  Poor Violet, just minding her own business, listening to a song called “His Eyes” by Pseudo Echo, when the killer sneaks into her room and stabs her with a machete.  Couldn’t he have knocked first?  I know if I saw someone doing the robot as awesomely as her, I wouldn’t kill her, I would join in and dance.  I feel like Jason, or in this case- pseudo-Jason, would do a mean robot.  He is already stiff, and emotionless, definite skills when it comes to this type of dance.

That’s all for now, but I’m sure not for long.  Everybody knows that nothing goes together better than death and dance!

~Emily

Comments
  1. Jeremy says:

    Not a horror film, but without question the finest on camera dance ever…

Leave a Reply

